Biodiversity Quick Check

Biodiversity is our natural capital and is just as important to our future as climate protection.

Biodiversity is the technical term for biological diversity. This includes species diversity, genetic diversity and the diversity of ecosystems. Biodiversity forms the direct and indirect basis for human existence by providing food, oxygen and drinking water.

The global value of ecosystem services is estimated to be of the order of twice the sum of all gross national products. Both our quality of life and the performance of our economy are inseparable from the diversity and integrity of nature.

The “Biodiversity Quick Check” was developed by me in accordance with the “Biodiversity Check”. It was first developed for two sporting associations in 2014 within the framework of the DOSB competition “Sport on the move – experiencing biological diversity”.

Tool for an overview of positive and negative impacts on the environment

As the name suggests, the “Biodiversity Quick Check” provides an initial overview of the positive and negative effects of an organization and its organs on biodiversity. It is intended to raise awareness of the topic of biodiversity and the existing options for mediation of impacts, as well as motivate further investigations and measures.

It is a diagnostic, learning and implementation tool all in one. Its original, concise format makes it a user-friendly instrument for the promotion of biodiversity in organisations and enterprises.

Its utility lies primarily in its ability to identify the “problem zones” as well as the “quick wins” for a reasonable investment of time and effort. In this way, companies and organisations can minimise costs and risks, secure production bases and innovation potential, as well as increase reputation and customer loyalty.

Individualisation and personalisation for your Biodiversity Quick Check

Each individual “Biodiversity Quick Check” is developed individually for the organisation to be examined and is oriented on the current state of development and needs of this organisation. In doing so, it does not consider the entire network of activities and relationships, but restricts its scope to examining selected areas, topics and influencing factors.

It also identifies possible assessment criteria (indicators). It can be supplemented by an action plan or action catalogue. In its basic structure, it is aligned to the “Biodiversity Check”, thus providing the ideal basis for an elaboration of the more comprehensive “Biodiversity Audit”.

Practical examples from my work

Together with and for the German Equestrian Association, I developed a catalogue of measures for the promotion of biodiversity in horse associations and stables in 2014. Horses need stables, hay and straw, meadows and pastures. Many studfarms, horse sportsclubs and farmyards have barns, roofs and buildings with cracks and crevices, which provide nesting possibilities and food. In addition, there are areas with open ground, hedgerows and groups of trees, rich in species and structural diversity.

Above all, the diversity of structures and micro-climates, as well as the extensive use of pastures and hay meadows, are the basis for very specific species communities, possibly including highly specialised or endangered species, which can be described as “associated species” of the horses. These may include, for example, barn owls, swallows, wagtails, lapwings, and bats, not to mention grasshoppers, butterflies and dung beetles. Many of them are found in rural as well as in urban areas.

Despite the fact that broadly speaking the starting situation is quite favorable, there is nevertheless significant potential in many facilities for improving biodiversity. There is no lack of openness and goodwill, only some expert knowledge and conscious awareness of the existing fauna and flora. Consequently, as a general rule, an injection of specialist knowledge and practical guidelines can be useful for deriving concrete measures, and for integrating experience gained elsewhere.

The catalogue of measures for the promotion of biological diversity in riding associations and stables has been developed for the German Equestrian Association within the framework of the German Olympic Sports Federation (DOSB) project “Horses on the move – exploring, conserving and promoting biodiversity”.

If you want to learn more, our project report is recommended for further reading: Horses on the move, biodiversity discovery, preservation and promotion – Biodiversity Quick Check and action catalog for equestrian associations and stables. Or also from the German Olympic Sports Federation (DOSB) Report.

Interested?

Are you curious, or already know that oecoach is right for you? Then I look forward to an initial, informal discussion. Send email. Thank you.

Contact

oecoach · Dr. Stefan Rösler
Paulusstraße 5 · 70197 Stuttgart
+49 711 6 20 91 85 (fixed network)
+49 170 5 26 52 34 (mobile)
roesler@oecoach.de
www.oecoach.de

Passing the word on means adding your support. If you liked this article, please recommend me to your network. Thank you very much!

Biodiversitäts-Quick-Check

Artenvielfalt ist unser Naturkapital und für unsere Zukunft so wichtig wie der Klimaschutz.

Biodiversität ist der Fachbegriff für Biologische Vielfalt. Diese umfasst die Artenvielfalt, die genetische Vielfalt sowie die Vielfalt der Ökosysteme. Biodiversität ist in Form von Nahrung, Sauerstoff und Trinkwasser direkt oder indirekt Grundlage jeder menschlichen Existenz.

Der globale Wert der ökosystemaren Leistungen wird pro Jahr auf fast die doppelte Summe geschätzt wie das weltweite Bruttosozialprodukt. Sowohl unsere Lebensqualität als auch die Leistungsfähigkeit unserer Wirtschaft hängen untrennbar mit der Vielfalt und Intaktheit der Natur zusammen.

Der „Biodiversitäts-Quick-Check“ wurde von mir in Anlehnung an den „Biodiversity-Check“ entwickelt. Er wurde 2014 im Rahmen des DOSB-Wettbewerbs „Sport bewegt – Biologische Vielfalt erleben“ zunächst für zwei Sportverbände ausgearbeitet.

Werkzeug für den Überblick über positive wie negative Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt

Wie bereits der Name verdeutlicht, ermöglicht der „Biodiversitäts-Quick-Check“ einen ersten Überblick über die positiven und negativen Auswirkungen einer Organisation und ihrer Organe auf die Biodiversität. Er soll für das Thema Biodiversität und die vorhandenen Einflussmöglichkeiten sensibilisieren sowie zu weiteren Untersuchungen und Maßnahmen motivieren.

Er ist gleichzeitig Diagnose-, Lern- und Aktivierungsinstrument und stellt in seiner komprimierten und übersichtlichen Form ein neuartiges Instrument zur Förderung der Biodiversität in Organisationen und Unternehmen dar.

Sein Nutzwert liegt vor allem darin, dass er dazu beiträgt, mit überschaubarem Aufwand die „Problemzonen“ sowie die „Quick-Wins“ zu identifizieren. Auf diese Weise können Unternehmen und Organisationen Kosten und Risiken reduzieren, Produktionsgrundlagen und Innovationspotential sichern sowie Reputation und Kundenbindung steigern.

Individualisierung und Personalisierung für Ihren Biodiversitäts-Quick-Check

Jeder einzelne „Biodiversitäts-Quick-Check“ wird individuell für die zu untersuchende Organisation erarbeitet und orientiert sich am aktuellen Entwicklungsstand und Bedarf diese Organisation. Dabei betrachtet er nicht das gesamte Wirk- und Beziehungsnetz der Organisation, sondern nimmt ausgewählte Bereiche, Themen und Einflussfaktoren unter die Lupe.

Zu diesen benennt er mögliche Bewertungsfaktoren (Indikatoren). Er kann durch einen Aktionsplan oder Maßnahmenkatalog ergänzt werden. In seiner Grundstruktur ist er am „Biodiversity-Check“ ausgerichtet, sodass er die ideale Grundlage für eine aufbauende Erarbeitung des umfassenderen „Artenvielfalt-Audit“ bildet.

Beispiel aus meiner Praxis

Gemeinsam mit und für die Deutsche Reiterliche Vereinigung entwickelte ich 2014 einen Maßnahmenkatalog zur Förderung der biologischen Vielfalt in Pferdevereinen und Pferdebetrieben. Pferde brauchen Ställe, Heu und Stroh, Wiesen und Weiden. Dies prägt in vielfacher Weise die Biologische Vielfalt im Umfeld der Pferdehaltung. So finden sich in vielen Gestüten, Pferdesportvereinen oder Betrieben Scheunen, Dachböden sowie Gebäude mit Ritzen und Spalten und damit Nistmöglichkeiten und Nahrung. Zudem Bereiche mit offenem Boden, vielfach arten- und strukturreiches Grünland mit begleitenden Hecken und Baumgruppen.

Vor allem die Vielfalt an Strukturen und Kleinklimaten sowie die extensive Nutzung von Weiden und Heuwiesen sind Grundlage für ganz spezifische Artengemeinschaften mit teilweise spezialisierten und gefährdeten Arten, die als „Begleitarten“ der Pferde bezeichnet werden können. Dazu zählen z.B. Schleiereule, Rauchschwalbe, Schafstelze und Kiebitz, außerdem Fledermäuse, Heuschrecken, Tagfalter und Dungkäfer. Viele von ihnen kommen sowohl in ländlichen wie in städtischen Räumen vor.

Trotz dieser im Grundsatz guten Ausgangssituation gibt es in vielen Anlagen deutliches Verbesserungspotential hinsichtlich der Förderung der Biologischen Vielfalt. Dabei fehlt es in der Regel nicht an Offenheit und gutem Willen, sondern zunächst einmal am fachlichen Wissen und bewussten Wahrnehmen der vorhandenen Fauna und Flora. Entsprechend dazu fehlen in der Regel fachlich fundierte Ideen und praktische Handreichungen für konkrete Maßnahmen sowie ein systematischer Austausch von best-practise-Beispielen.

Der Maßnahmenkatalog zur Förderung der biologischen Vielfalt in Pferdevereinen und Pferdebetrieben wurde im Rahmen des Förderprojektes des Deutschen Olympischen Sportbunds (DOSB) „Pferde bewegen – biologische Vielfalt erkunden, erhalten und fördern“ für die Deutsche Reiterliche Vereinigung e.V. entwickelt.

Wer mehr erfahren möchte, dem sei unser Projektbericht zur weiteren Lektüre empfohlen: Pferde bewegen, biologische Vielfalt erkunden, erhalten und fördern – Biodiversitäts-Quick-Check und Maßnahmenkatalog für Pferdevereine und Pferdebetriebe. Oder auch drüben der Bericht beim Deutschen Olympischen Sportbund (DOSB).

Interesse?

Sie sind neugierig geworden oder wissen schon, dass oecoach der Richtige für Sie ist? Dann freue ich mich auf ein erstes unverbindliches Gespräch. Bitte nehmen Sie Kontakt mit mir auf. Vielen Dank.

Kontakt

oecoach · Dr. Stefan Rösler
Paulusstraße 5 · 70197 Stuttgart
+49 711 6 20 91 85 (Festnetz)
+49 170 5 26 52 34 (mobil)
roesler@oecoach.de
www.oecoach.de

Weitersagen heißt unterstützen. Ihnen gefällt dieser Artikel? Empfehlen Sie mich gern weiter in Ihrem Netzwerk. Vielen Dank!